Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you guys think, can you boat as many fish with just a wyandott worm, grub, or other plastic as you can with minnows? seems like there is more talk lately of guys going with just plastic???

·
Registered
86 Posts
I am no expert but I caught 1 yesterday on a gulp and no minnow. Seemed as good as with minoow to me. This being cold dirty water and ealry season I am somewhat convinced.

·
Registered
553 Posts
Chasin 50 said:
What do you guys think, can you boat as many fish with just a wyandott worm, grub, or other plastic as you can with minnows? seems like there is more talk lately of guys going with just plastic???
Saturday started with a brown plastic worm and a minnow. Only lasted 1 hour, went to just the brown plastic worm and caught my limit!!

Sunday ended up switching to a balck worm, 4", and caught my limit again! 9 times out of 10 I have done the best with just a plastic and a stinger!

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
When it is just the males in the river and they are on the feed just a Jig and and some rubber.

But this time of year I go with a Shinner. I believe they tend to suck it in harder and hold on a split second longer. Plus it adds a natural flash.

·
Premium Member
6,388 Posts
I haven't used a minnow in over three seasons, and my catch rate has stayed the same or improved. That includes substantial tournament activity as well. Keep in mind that the currents in both the Detroit and St Clair rivers is strong, so the bite is very much a reaction strike. Personally, I think the minnow adds very little, and can actually hurt the bite as it bulks up the bait, tends to twist itself on the hook, and can slow you down on a hot bite.

·
Administrator
26,855 Posts
Tom (mich) said: