Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to shut off the water so I could replace my water heater. I'm sure the valve had been open 11 years since the last time I had done this. By minerals or age or whatever, the valve was so stuck in place that I (foolishly, perhaps) put a channel-locks on it and... broke it free. Now the valve handle (see red & white in pics) turns and turns either way and the valve just stays open. I turned off power to the well pump and got my water heater changed, but look at this valve I have to repair/replace. Galvanized-to Valve- to Copper.

Should I cut the copper and sweat in a union? There's no other way to thread the copper out of the valve, is there? Other ideas? I'm not a pro, but I've soldered hundreds of leak-free copper joints in my life. I know I'll have to shut off power to the pump again, and drain the whole house. What I don't know is how all this affects everything else, like the pressure tank, etc. Any advice for me? Warnings for what to look out for?

Thanks

Valve 1.jpg

Valve 2.jpg

Valve 3.jpg

And while we're at it, looks like I have to replace this guage, too.

Valve guage.jpg

·
Premium Member
10,436 Posts
Should be able to pull that valve stem out and replace it. But if you do replace the whole valve I d put in a single handle ball valve
Don’t know if there is any movement in that copper line but if so you could put the heat to the solder joint and take it apart.

·
Registered
5,687 Posts
The easiest way seems to be to disconnect the union on the bottom, and then un sweat the copper 3/4 female to sweat valve connection on the top.

Replace all the parts that are bad on the bench, clean up your connection at the top that you un sweated, and put it back together.

A couple threaded joints, and one sweated joint.