Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My brother wants to have a pig roast for his graduation open house and the folks want nothing to do with it. So, I'm trying to take this thing over for him and see what all it entails. I've never done this before so is it a bad idea to try and do this? I need to know how much a pig will cost, where to get one from, how to roast it, and basically anything else you guys think I should know. Thanks a lot guys,
Brandon

·
Registered
10,110 Posts
Brandaman said:
My brother wants to have a pig roast for his graduation open house and the folks want nothing to do with it. So, I'm trying to take this thing over for him and see what all it entails. I've never done this before so is it a bad idea to try and do this? I need to know how much a pig will cost, where to get one from, how to roast it, and basically anything else you guys think I should know. Thanks a lot guys,
Brandon
Hey I got a roaster and depending on the date if you invite me i will cook the pig for you.

It is alot of work, i cook 150 pound pigs for a roast in 6 hours.

Basically you want to cook it till it is 160 degrees internal temp.

Average pig will cost you anywheres from 1.50-2.00 dollars a pound, plus butchering, I can ask the guy where I get my pigs from what they are going for.

Let me know if you want me to get you any info. It would at least give you an idea of cost. If you need a roaster I can hook you up with mine for the weekend. Let me know you can pm me and we can talk.

Also you figure 1 pound of meat for every person that is going to eat. So if you feed 100 people you need 100 pound pig. That is just a rough estimate and I have never had to much left over but always had enough to make pulled pork barbeque sandwiches the next day to munch on.

·
Registered
11,728 Posts