Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if anyone may have a pic of their weasel boxes. I was also wondering about recommended dimensions. I am very new to this trapping thing, and any help would be appreciated. Does the back of the box have to be wire mesh, I saw a pic on-line of one built that way, but I don't see the benefit. I'm not suggesting there is no benefit, I just couldn't figure out what it would be. I assume the object is to get the weasel to come in the hole headed for the back of the box where the bait is, but I couldn't figure out what the object of the wire mesh on the back of the box was. Is it so the weasel finds the bait and can't get to it without going to the other end of the box and in the hole?

I saw a weasel today that kept coming back out of hiding to check me out. We were only a few feet apart and I was running a compressor, I thought they were supposed to be skittish? I was surprised it was so willing to come up to me. Where he's living should make it fairly easy to trap, and he will make a beautiful life-sized mount.

Thanks for any advice anyone can provide.

·
Registered
606 Posts
Latest fur-fish-game has great article and how to instructions! Build a couple last week,had a hard time finding the large rat traps.

·
Registered
554 Posts