Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I think I am posting in the right spot... I never knew the fish I fish for are considered "warm water fish!" but ok... well I am really new to fishing and LOVE it!! But I really am not that good... my question is, and I am sure it will make you laugh... How does one become a good fisherman?? seriously. I fish pretty much with worms and hooks. I check out the lures all the time but wow there are SO many kinds. How do you learn what to use? spinnerbait, crankbait...etc.... I have checked out books and really they ones I have found are written for the experienced fisherman so if your new its like reading latin... ugh. I did get a kids fishing book for my girls and actually learned some things... :) but it didn't get into lures and what to use and why. Is it just an experience thing? Help!!!!! I am going fishing again tomorrow and would love to see some improvement! LOL :sad::lol:

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
Fishing often and finding other people to fish with are great ways to pick up new tactics. Those tackle cataloges and all of the thousands of lures can be overwhelming. Stick to some basics and pick up new tactics as you move on. What is the warm water fish you are after?

·
Registered
911 Posts
We have all gone thru what you are going thru, at one time in our life. Expierience is the best teacher. Going fishing with people that have some years under their belt is always good too. And never be afraid to ask questions and read as much as you can. It will eventually all make sense.;) Well......most of it.....:lol:

·
Registered
3,125 Posts