Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Up for the weekend and so far have a walleye, Atlantic and a steelhead in box. Tried the trick with or 16s on the dipseys and a 50ft lead of fleuro to the lure and the Atlantic and steelhead came on those. 170 and 185 back, screwball and mixed veggies. Walleye on a 300 weighted steel with a purple carbon.

Sent from my SM-A526U using Michigan Sportsman mobile app
View attachment 845136

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
Up for the weekend and so far have a walleye, Atlantic and a steelhead in box. Tried the trick with or 16s on the dipseys and a 50ft lead of fleuro to the lure and the Atlantic and steelhead came on those. 170 and 185 back, screwball and mixed veggies. Walleye on a 300 weighted steel with a purple carbon.

View attachment 845136
I’m relatively new to the deep water game. But I know I like a long leader off my divers (mag dipseys). Fishing out of a small boat and little room on the deck, we usually end up hand lining diver bites in.

Thinking of giving slide divers a go next year, but I’m kinda on the fence. I’m a fan of KISS and they seem like one more point of failure….

Would you mind elaborating on the dipsy/50’ lead you referenced? Maybe a link?

Sent from my iPhone using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
Reactions: BucksandDucks

·
Registered
6,116 Posts

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I’m relatively new to the deep water game. But I know I like a long leader off my divers (mag dipseys). Fishing out of a small boat and little room on the deck, we usually end up hand lining diver bites in.

Thinking of giving slide divers a go next year, but I’m kinda on the fence. I’m a fan of KISS and they seem like one more point of failure….