Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

Hand held GPS

1239 22
Hey guys, every plunge I take that involves options and large price ranges that I have no experience with I like to do my homework to be as satisfied as possible with my purchase. Obviously the title gives it away but here is what I'm looking for and seeking advice for:

Price: Cheaper the better but I'd spend up to $250ish

Brand: Don't really care as long as it is well known and quality, probably leaning Garmin

Main Use: Get me safely from parking lot and back in case of a whiteout or something like that (no machine yet as I'm needing a new vehicle first so I'm walking and will probably fish past dark most times)

Other Uses: I would like something with a bay chip or map already built in or something that can be upgraded via downloads or other cards and things you can buy to at least see contours and depth changes so I know when I'm close and obviously be able to mark and label waypoints.

Miscellaneous: Something pocket sized (just something you don't have to mount, my coat has big pockets or I have other storage spaces) that runs on batteries or at least have the capability to use those as back up in case it has rechargeables that go dead on the water, water/weather proof (not dunking down a hole but snow or maybe a little rain proof), no combo unit like those being made in flashers and graphs because I like my Vex and don't plan on retiring it, ability to save paths/tracks

Done quite a bit of research and just haven't been fond enough of one yet to make a choice so I'm wondering if any of you have something similar but I also know most of you have machines and GPS mounted right on there and probably use phones as back up too

thanks for any help
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
I use a lowrance h20. Works great, older units. But they are reliable and have never let me down