Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How did the grouse season go in the UP this season? This is the first year I have missed going to the Newberry area in several years. My hunting partner had a serious heart attack and was not able to travel. He is getting better but still has a long way to go. Hope everyone had a great time and I will be back next season.

·
Registered
6,757 Posts
I found it to be ho hum. Not horrible but numbers were lower than last year.
Summarizes my thoughts pretty well. I was up there three times this year. Oddly enough, things seemed to pick up as the season progressed, but still not to past years numbers.

I've been hunting this same general area since 2011. First three years were pretty steady, with 2014 being the down year.

·
Registered
3,304 Posts
The yoop was good to me this fall, I had some pretty good days and a couple not so good.

Hope you partner gets well enough to make the trip next fall. It is a special place and should not be missed.

·
Registered
2,929 Posts
I found the grouse numbers just slightly less than 2013 but woodcock were quite a bit down.

·
Registered
2,929 Posts
Anybody see any wolfs ?

I see 6-10 a year, didn't see any this year while grouse hunting. We did spook one in December that I could see ran off. Probably heard me huffing and puffing in the snow😊

·
Registered
325 Posts
I haven't been in a couple years now, hoping/thinking of going back this season. Miss it. Wolf situation is my sole reason for not going. I know risk is low, but I'm not sure I could forgive myself. Coward!!

·
Registered
310 Posts
I didn't hunt u.p last year but did hunt northern lower Michigan numbers were down first week in oct. but was told by others things picked up later on. I don't understand that I hunt a lot of aut. olives and birds were just not using them any one know why.. I thought maybe they wear not ripe.. I don't know

·
Registered
584 Posts