Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to the world of grouse hunting and I was wondering if someone could provide me some tips or advice on habitat, etc. Or, if there are recommended resources on the net that you are aware of would be terrific. A few things that I am particularly interested in knowing are:
- Is there a better time of the day to be out? morning, midday, etc?
- Should I stick with trails/paths in the woods as I have come up on them in the past while running and hiking. Or are there better spots? I was out with my dogs walking the woods Sunday and we found ourselves trudging through long grass and I wasn't sure if I would want to avoid that or not? I remember driving to camp as a kid and the bush road was where I always saw them.

Thanks for your help!

Rob

·
Premium Member
2,189 Posts
You would be better off doing some google research then to ask the yahoos on this board about where to find grouse. These guys would likely tell you to check young aspen stands.

·
Registered
577 Posts
I've had my best luck after 9 am. 'till lunch and then from 2pm. to about a half hour before dark. At my age I only hunt trails and 2 tracks. Dogs are for brush busting.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
I found a pretty good spot for some grouse. It's pretty small and I can probably cover the whole thing in 1/2 hour or so. How long before I should go back through there again? Is going back the next day too soon?

·
Registered
3,717 Posts
I found a pretty good spot for some grouse. It's pretty small and I can probably cover the whole thing in 1/2 hour or so. How long before I should go back through there again? Is going back the next day too soon?
Probably but, I can guarantee that other people have probably gone through that same cover after or before you. If it's only 1/2 cover, I would look for some more similiar to that one.