Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8,559 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In reading a new story on a site behind a paywall about the charges the Attorney General's office announced today that deal with the Flint water crisis, one line really stuck out to me:

All charges stemmed from evidence presented to Judge David Newblatt, who served as a secret one-person grand jury.

I am no legal expert, but I was under the impression that a grand jury had multiple jurors (minimum 3) to be able to reach a 2/3 majority vote on whether or not to indict. A majority of 1 seems a bit strange. The other part of it was that I though grand jury jurors were regular citizens, not judges themselves.

For all you folks better versed in legal proceedings, is this run of the mill grand jury activity in Michigan or does this seem a bit strange to you too?

·
Premium Member
28,163 Posts
In reading a new story on a site behind a paywall about the charges the Attorney General's office announced today that deal with the Flint water crisis, one line really stuck out to me:

All charges stemmed from evidence presented to Judge David Newblatt, who served as a secret one-person grand jury.

I am no legal expert, but I was under the impression that a grand jury had multiple jurors (minimum 3) to be able to reach a 2/3 majority vote on whether or not to indict. A majority of 1 seems a bit strange. The other part of it was that I though grand jury jurors were regular citizens, not judges themselves.

For all you folks better versed in legal proceedings, is this run of the mill grand jury activity in Michigan or does this seem a bit strange to you too?
Grand juries are not binding. They can choose not to indict, and the prosecutor can still bring charges anyway.

Most cases in Michigan merely have preliminary hearings, grand juries are unusual.

Any grand jury in MI requires I believe 7 or more jurors to be able to indict.

·
Registered
839 Posts