Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone recommend a good GPS for ice fishing the Saginaw Bay? Im looking for an easy to use GPS that will get me back to my truck safely. Something that is too expensive.

Side note, I've never used a GPS before.

Thanks Guys

·
Registered
303 Posts
garmin dakota. touch screen very easy to use. can still use with gloves on and is relatively cheap compared to some models. lake map software is about 100 bucks for it.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
Got a older Lowrance H20 I-Finder and with a lakemaster chip its all I ever need.Hard or softwater.

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Got tired of the small screens on the hand held units a few years ago. Since I'm normally leading the group I upgraded to a Lowrance global map 5300. Full size screen and color...im a happy man now!!!

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
walleyejack, can you get a lake chip for that e-trex or not? need to get 1 also but not sure what to get, thanks.

·
Registered
1,788 Posts
Can someone recommend a good GPS for ice fishing the Saginaw Bay? Im looking for an easy to use GPS that will get me back to my truck safely. Something that is too expensive.

Side note, I've never used a GPS before.

Thanks Guys
if all you want is to get out and get back get something simple like the garmin e-trex, it's a discontinued model, but google it, and you can get an idea of what it does, and then compare it to something else. I've used mine for years, and will keep using it. it has a neck strap, it's backlit, Practice with it in your truck as you go to work or the store setting waypoints as you go, it's fun.

·
Registered
1,941 Posts
Garmin Rhino series make the most sense IMHO. You get the two way radio and a great GPS all in one. When my Garmin 12 goes to crap I will have one if not sooner. My brother and Dad use them and its definately the way to go if your getting something new.

·
Registered
1,941 Posts