Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11,114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Took a nice little 7 point this morning around 9:15am. First buck I have harvested with my bow!

The action was pretty good right from the start. Kicked up a group of deer bedding near my stand on the way in.

Right after daybreak, an antlerless deer came in from the west. The deer was alone as far as I could tell, crossed right in front of my stand about 10 yards out. I have real good cover in front so I drew back as it passed the cover. When it stepped into the clearing I studied up the top of his head real good and saw 2 nubs on top, so I let down. While letting down he looked up at me. Locked in on me for a good 30 seconds as I stood dead still. Then he carried on. Right after him came a Doe, I figured she was with him but she kept on and instead of following him she veered off towards the edge of the woods to the cornfield. She was bleating, so maybe she was looking for the rest of her group.
Eventually the button buck moved on out of my area and headed for the back of the woods.

A little while later I saw a spike come through from behind me, he was about 20 yards behind my stand (no shot to the area he was in). I would have tried grunting him in but I wasn't going to shoot him anyways so I just enjoyed watching him.

Shortly after that a group of 5 Does/Fawns came storming into the woods out of the bean field and headed back to the back of the woods. I was on high alert hoping maybe a Buck was on the prowl but never saw anything.