Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am an Ohio resident (I live on the border of Ohio and Michigan) and am going to be gifting a gun to my buddy for his birthday, who happens to be a Michigan resident. Can someone point me in the right direction of how to do this? I have searched for hours and cannot find anything!

·
Registered
2,999 Posts
I got a rifle from a guy in another state recently, similar process. You just drive with him to an FFL in MI, set the gun on the counter & let the shop do their thing. It would be the same as if it was shipped there. Most FFLs(that I deal with) will accept guns for transfer from a private individual, non-FFL. Ask the shop ahead of time, about costs too.

·
Registered
863 Posts
Not quite sourdough, for nabellrn to do that he would have to have Ohio’s version of a CPL, if he does then proceed just as you stated, if he does not, he can not legally transport it in MI, he would need to ship it to a FFL of their choosing. To the OP, under no circumstances can the giftee come and get it, the giftee taking it across state lines could get him a felony charge.

·
Registered
2,999 Posts
So are you saying, a non-res without a CC license can’t transport a handgun in MI? I find that hard to believe.

For conversation purposes we’re talking that this handgun is unloaded, cased, and in the trunk of a vehicle. It’s assumed this transporter is legally able to own the gun in his own State, not a felon or anything.
1791374F-A5AF-4DD8-A8F1-4C194707B919.png

·
Registered
102 Posts
Not quite sourdough, for nabellrn to do that he would have to have Ohio’s version of a CPL, if he does then proceed just as you stated, if he does not, he can not legally transport it in MI, he would need to ship it to a FFL of their choosing. To the OP, under no circumstances can the giftee come and get it, the giftee taking it across state lines could get him a felony charge.