Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to the food plot situation and was wondering what is the best way to get started. I have forty acres in Gladwin that I'd like to start some plots on for deer primarily, attracting any small game or turkeys would just be an added bonus. Are their any good books on the subject and what would it cost to have a biologist come out and take a look and make some recommendations? I know I'll probably have to start with soil samples but where do I take them to have them checked. Thanks for the help in advance. --Grizz

-----------
Think like a mountain.

·
Registered
404 Posts
Grizz I am in the same boat as you on this. I have 10 acres and my buddy has 20 along side. It was a pasture probably 20 years ago and has everything from open overgrown fields to mature oaks. The popple range from 12 inch diameter to saplings and the forest succession is quite evident with small islands of large popple tapering into the open filed areas. I want to plant a small field with clover, maybe 100 feet x 200 feet. The areas I want to plant clover are inaccessible to tractors. I have a DR mower that can hack everything in its path and then I plan on chopping out the sapling stumps. Then set the roto tiller on shallow maybe 2 inches and shred everything down. Test the soil, adjust the pH and then plant. Guys, Am I on the right track? Do I need to treat the turned soil with weed killer? Should I go deeper with the tiller? Any help, souces, suggestions.

Thank you,

Mike

[This message has been edited by fishandhunt (edited 02-14-2001).]

·
Registered
3,649 Posts