Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there all!

Usually find me on the waterfowl forum here but I am going to be the very honored and lucky recipient of a UKC/DRA registered black lab female in a few short days.:) She is absolutely gorgeous and appears to be very intelligent.

Her dam (AKC) and sire (UKC) are both good hunters. Mostly used in upland retrieval but I'm hoping she takes to water because I'd like her to come with me after those beautiful ducks.

Now, I'm confessing I'm pretty new to gun dog training. I've read a bit and she has been started by the breeder. Has basic commands down and understands 1 whistle command. How would YOU begin your socialization and training for this dog?

Also, she is probably 40 pounds (give or take) at 7 months...she has a more narrow head (not too narrow though) rather than the "blockhead". Her paws are still quite large, but how long do labs continue their growing? 1 to 1 1/2 years or so?

I just want her to be the best hunter she can be...and a companion.

Thanks for any and all information...

Dean

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
strat69 said:
Hi there all!

Usually find me on the waterfowl forum here but I am going to be the very honored and lucky recipient of a UKC/DRA registered black lab female in a few short days.:) She is absolutely gorgeous and appears to be very intelligent.

Her dam (AKC) and sire (UKC) are both good hunters. Mostly used in upland retrieval but I'm hoping she takes to water because I'd like her to come with me after those beautiful ducks.

Now, I'm confessing I'm pretty new to gun dog training. I've read a bit and she has been started by the breeder. Has basic commands down and understands 1 whistle command. How would YOU begin your socialization and training for this dog?