Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've caught plenty of musky trolling the lake and a few jigging eyes in the river, but would lime to jigging for some skis.

Curious about rod/reel/line/leader.

I have a heavy duty flipping stick that I've user for casting buck tails raps and lokes. I also have a couple of really stiff 6'3" musky rods. I have a couple of shimano calcutta 300s too.

Curious about color choice as water clarity. Clear water? Slightly stained? I have a 1 year old, do finances are tight if there are 2-3 colors you'd recommend to start.

Also, are there different sizes of baits?

Thanks a ton,
Tim

Ps: Does this technique work in the st Clair river?

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

·
Banned
640 Posts
im a novice at musky fishing...but my buddies who arent...and fish regularly, got me in a 9' heavy musky innovations rod for jig'n and casting...If you look up you tube bondy has got a 10 minute video on how, what and why he uses the gear he dose...im not exactly sure that musky care so much about color as they do speed and presentation..imo...but like i said im new and can only go off what i hear and read..Good luck

·
Registered
198 Posts
Pearl, black and vomit sell the most.

He has 3 different types of baits. Just stick with the original.

Most people just stick with the DR, no one really has any reports for the SCR.

Also the Bondy weighs in a about 6oz, make sure your rod can handle that plus a 15#+ fish.

·
Banned
640 Posts
Pearl, black and vomit sell the most.

He has 3 different types of baits. Just stick with the original.

Most people just stick with the DR, no one really has any reports for the SCR.

Also the Bondy weighs in a about 6oz, make sure your rod can handle that plus a 15#+ fish.