Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does Anyone Blow A Foiles for a honker call? im going to be looking at some at cabelas just wondering if anyone uses one.

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
I got a few of Foiles goose calls. Great calls. Look at the Strait Meat Honker it's easy to blow and can be tuned to fit your calling style. If your down at Cabelas this weekend Big Sean Hammock will be there from Foiles and he will get you set-up.

·
Registered
10,937 Posts
Ive been blowing foiles for eight years now. I have three foiles goose calls

Straight Meat Honker: Best all around call, deep and goosey and somewhat fast. Will do everything you would ever need to do.

Showtime: Fast Fast Fast, Loud Loud Loud Takes a quite a bit of air

Market Hunter: I didnt like this call but now I have tuned it as a cackler call

The best advice I can give ya is to blow the living crap outta the thing. You will never understand the difference warn in guts will make until you have them. Also learn to tune a call and shave reeds. Each person has a unique way in which they want the call to be, and that can only be achieved by learning to tune a call.

As for short reeds in general. I think we have reached a point whereas they are all kinda copycats of each other. If you can blow a foiles, you can take a zink, grounds, etc etc Tune it to your liking and learn the back pressure and be happy.

·
Registered
4,781 Posts
SMH is probalby the easiest "high end" call out there to use... at least mine is. There are plenty of great calls to choose from, i would put foiles toward the top.

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
I own the SMH and the Showtime and both calls are awesome!!! the Showtime is fast and loud but still sounds great while the SMH is somewhat fast and is a little deeper sounding but it sounds great as well!! The SMH is my go to call every season and has been for about 3 seasons now...