Votes: 6 12.8%
  • Flash

Votes: 41 87.2%
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
931 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which do you think spooks more? The Infrared is obviously more subtle but the red lights stay on for a long time to get the shot. Anyone know of any good articles or tests on this subject?

·
Registered
4,014 Posts
I would think a flash, however I've used both and never seen evidence of either one spooking a deer. I prefer the IR now just in case.

·
Registered
931 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This is my first year using a trail CAM and in 6 weeks of use at night I have seen many deer looking right at the CAM and acting spooky. I have it set to take 3 pics 15s apart and then a 1 minute delay. The moultrie does make a small audible click and it is possible the deer are reacting to that sound and not the red light.

·
Registered
147 Posts
I have a IR maultrie, and I think the next time I am at cabelas I'll get to of the flash for the price of the one IR. My brother gets awsome pics with his at night and he has had return customers in the order of old does and 3.5 year old bucks if they come back by time after time I would say it is ok to flash......But only one opinion here. Regardless they are a blast to have in the woods.

·
Premium Member
7,790 Posts
No difference in my experience. Both can have a negative effect at times. Depends on the individual deer and its attitude at the time, more than anything else. I've gotten too many whiteflash pics where the deer show little or no reaction to believe it matters. Sometimes it makes them more curious as to what they saw, and they will come take a closer look. IR did open up another profitable manufacturers market for those who think it necessary though, so the option is there for those who prefer it.

·
Registered
4,553 Posts