Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
11/14/09 Made it up to do some steelheading. Arrived at the homestead dam on the betsie at 6am. Only car in the lot should have known that was a bad sign. Fished with spawn, spinners, and cranks with no takers. Waded all the way down to the next access point with only a handfull of anglers, only saw one fish taken maybe 4-7 pounds. There were still some skanky salmon around in the shallows maybe four or five that i saw. Called it quits at 10am and headed to tippy dam. Fished from around 1130 untill 2. Saw no decent steelie taken besides 6-10 inch smolts. A few people were catching some small browns 8-12 inch. From there went to the PM with absolutley no action and no anglers. I am new to steelheading this year and was told this is usually a great time for it. So whats the deal? Not enough rain? Too warm? Anyone else out there have any luck or tips for a newbie?

·
Registered
152 Posts
I know the huron has been real slow also. It should be jammin right now especially after the fall run we had in 08'. Their callin for rain in the forecast. I have a feeling thats gonna change things, at least I hope so. Just keep at it, you'll nail'em. I usually go by thanksgiving weekend as the true start to the run here in s.e. MI.

·
Premium Member
21,607 Posts
We're under some high pressure and that's never good for fishing.

As for the Betsie the fish, salmon and steelheads, tend to head up over the dam and move upstream. At this time of year fishing slow, deep, holding water is what you need to do.

If you fished all the way down to the next access site below Homestead that would be just above the US31 bridge and you had a long hike back upstream to your vehicle.

·
Registered
80 Posts