Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!! I am a student at CMU ,and I also love to hunt. i am just wondering how I may find some hunting land near Mount Pleasent inwhich i may be able to hunt deer or turkeys? I would appreciate any ideas, Thanks

·
Registered
124 Posts
Juniortank11,

I did a lot of hunting while attending CMU. Actually had my gun checked in at the lobby of the towers. Anyway, my roommates and I did a lot of good in the state land near oil city. We shot grouse in September, and scouted while we did it. We had a lot of success with our bows out there. Not many hunters went there during October. Pretty much every night, we had the woods to ourselves. You need to head East On M20 out of town. I don't remember what the name of the road was, but I know that the intersection you have to turn down has a relatively new gas station on the right hand side of the intersection. You want to turn left. The state land starts on your right hand side, and continues for miles. There is a dirt 2 track that you turn off on. You'll be heading east on the two track. It will take you deep into the state land. Scout it out, and I think you will be happy. I actually thought about getting the old roommates together to bow hunt that area again for old times sake. Let me know if you have any other questions. You're in a really good area for deer. Just steer clear of that woods when rifle season starts. Everyone and their brother hits that woods on opening day. The second week of season it calms back down.

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
you will just miss them anyway!

YOU SHOULD BE STUDYING LIKE I DID AT COLLEGE LITTLE BROTHER.:D

WELCOME TO THE SITE WHERE YOU CAN SAY ANYTHING AND YOU SHOULD BELIEVE NOTHING.

·
Registered
2,643 Posts