Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was out the other day and going in a straight line for over a mile. I noticed that a boat pulling planners was trying to get infront of me. I did everything in my power to not run over his stuff. I risked snagging my stuff on the pier so I would run over his lines. I did not hit any of his lines and everything worked out ok. But geez,,,, what a tool. I couldn't believe someone would put me in that situation on the big water. I had nowhere to go and used up all possible real estate to save his lines. I was wondering if there is a code like flashing a light or yelling or something. I purposely go out of my way to make sure I stay clear of boats since I'm new to this sport but it never seems to fail someone always fishes too close (in my opinion), I would like to get more agressive but its not my style, besides with a east wind you never know who you will need to rely on for help.

Ed
p.s. I used my radio but no answer

·
Registered
3,447 Posts
Probably was soo crowded he couldn't help it .... right?:rolleyes: Some people are just freakin 'knobs' and most of the time they do not even know it.

One option to get the point across (although probably not the best) would be to test your casting abilties with a pound or pound and a half ball.:evil:

Better not to drive aggressive ... too much of your tackle at stake, as well.

·
Banned
4,684 Posts
Technically there is a Code: the red and Green Lights. If you see his Green Light, you are the STAND ON boat. You hold your course. If you see his red light, you are the GIVE WAY boat.

Stand-on boat The vessel which should maintain its course and speed

Give-way boat The vessel which must take early and substantial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing down or changing course

Now, this is what the rules says about boats under power. When trolling, you are under power. Do the majority of people even understand this? Nope.