Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
purchased this boat in mid summer....Original owner had engine offset so he could fit kicker in..boat leans to that side when in water....was told this is dangerous and engine should be centered and to trim the transom so kicker will fit.....what are your thoughts?? it is easy enough to do so I figured I will get some Ideas beforehand! here is a picture of rear of boat with engines off set

·
Registered
4,161 Posts
I have never seen anyone do that, but all signs point to that being a bad move IMO..(Which is probably why you never see anyone do it... I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that would throw of the hydrodynamics of the entire vessel.. Might get a little hairy in a sharp starboard turn, especially if you're alone...

·
Registered
2,432 Posts
Wow are you allowed to trim a transom for that? I'm not a boat expert by no means, but can you seriously trim one? That sounded like bad ju-ju to me. Anyone care to chime in?:confused:

·
Premium Member
18,470 Posts
Personally I'd never mount an engine off center. I can see some bad effects from it. What is wrong with having the main mill mounted dead center and just a kicker bracket off to the side ? That way when you're at speed with the main motor it will handle fine. When you're using the kicker you're not going to be at speed and there shouldn't be any handling/safety issues.

Just my .02

·
Registered
5,113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·