Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

· Registered
7,792 Posts
Good job!

I ended with just over 50 birds(not counting lawn darts) and limited every trip but 1.

Can't remember the exact breakdown on species but:
Mallard
GW Teal
BW Teal
Widgeon
Gadwall
Pintail
Woodduck
Shoveler
Ruddy
Greater Scaup
Lesser Scaup
Bufflehead
Goldeneye
Redhead
Scoter
Canadians

I was suprised, no can's, no ring necks and no blacks. Probably should have bagged my 3 missing species, but some got hall passes on the days we were trying limits consisting of only Drake Goldeneye's and Drake Greater Scaup :lol:

· Premium Member
5,603 Posts
Way to Go Kid! - the season's not over though! let's see you add some geese to that number!! ;)

and Caddis... Ugh! what a crushing blow!! (I'd expect CANADIANS from Just Ducky!) :lol:

· Registered
1,584 Posts
Since I'm somewhat new to the waterfowling game, which species are you referring to as "lawn darts" I know most of the other slang names, but can't figure that one out, I'm guess Mergs, but thats strictly a guess???

· Registered
1,534 Posts
gregm- your right they are mergs.

glad to hear everyone did good... I on the other hand only shot 4 canadas, a greenhead, and a woody. this had to be my worst season since i started 4 years ago when i was 12. I hunted more this year then i did last year. i probably hunted everyweekend, and probably 3-4 weekdays. congrats to everyone who did well. everyone have a merry christmas and happy new year!

DB808

· Registered
1,476 Posts
I got a few, missed a few and had a great time. ;) I do need to get a few more geese. They don't last long, when you make goose wraps with them. :D I have people asking me "Got anymore goose??" I made goose wrap junkies out of them also... :lol: Looks like I'm going to have to do some scouting after the first and try to connect on a few.

KEvlar

· Registered
7,792 Posts