Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally getting away from school this weekend and am heading to the parents house in TC. Is there any action on east bay, or is all the action on west bay?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Our best action has been on east bay this year fishing out of Elk Rapids.

·
Registered
39 Posts
help for a first year fisherman. what has been the key at Elk Rapids this year?
This is my first year chasing kings, and success has been dismal. I've been throwing everything but the kitchen sink at them, but not much success. can anybody that fishes that area help? i'm using riggers, and a dipsy/fly setup, no core yet. depth anywhere from just off bottom to 20-25'. spoons, plugs, flies. i can't seem to get them to bite. What am i doing wrong?
t

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The biggest thing this year was to cover the water from 60-100 feet down no matter what the depth of water. We ran two dipsys set on 3 about 150 feet back (im assuming they were hitting or getting close to 60 feet, they worked so who cares). We also ran two down riggers, one at 80 and the other at 100. Always had two rods running something with blue, another had pink, and the fourth rod we changed about every hour to see if they wanted something different. They rarely wanted something different. Blue was the ticket. Also try running a spoon behind a dodger or spin doctor. Our number one combo was a white dodger and a blue chilly willy. We boated 20 kings and 3 lakers.

·
Registered
84 Posts
I've heard that before a lot more this year about dodger and spoon. How far do you run that spoon back off dodger? Enough to total the length of the rod your using?

·
Registered
3,047 Posts