Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year salmon fishing and thus far I've had no luck with crankbaits... so I'm looking to try a skein drift setup.

What I'm thinking of doing is using braided 20 lb. test for my main line. Attatching that to a 3 way swivel. attatching about 8'' of line to the swivel and putting 5 or so split shot to that line secured with an overhand knot. Then attatching about a 3' leader of mono 20 lb test to the third eye of the 3 way swivel with skein tied on.

Will this be an effective setup? It seems close to the chuck and duck style I see all of the fly fishers using and landing many salmon. Also, will clinch knots be sufficient to tie all of these knots... and any reccomendations for how to attatch skein to the treble hook or other alternatives for hooks (legal of course!) would be very helpful. Would a slip weight system be more efficient?

Thanks!

·
Registered
70 Posts
1st: drop to 14lb or less on the leader (IMO).

2nd: knots you chose should be fine.

3rd and probably the most important is the length of your leader. 3ft is fine, 4ft is better (IMO), and well the best would be to match your length to the dept of the river section being fished (IMO). I have thrown a 15ft leader (distance from weight to hook) and on certain sections of river had outstanding results.

so yes basically chuck and duck set up. Any other thoughts on this group?

·
Banned
5,734 Posts
Tie the improved clinch.
Put all those Fin grabbing treble hooks away for pike fishing. Go get some #4 egg or octopus hooks.
Would not go any higher than 12lb Maxima for leader.
3 to 4 feet is fine. 15ft leaders are reserved for snobby dry fly fisherman.
tie the hook onto the leader line using a snell knot (egg loop, yarn loop.)
You should be able to find directions to tie it on the web with pictures showing it.
You should be pretty much good to go.

·
Registered
872 Posts
And they work...:rolleyes: