Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw in the Detroit News today reporters saying there's a good chance Dantonio will retire after the season. Anybody have any inside info on this? I'm a Michigan grad but I was shocked to see this. I think he's a really good coach. Maybe not a great recruiter but an excellent coach. I think Sparty would have a hard time replacing him. I just don't think there's that many coaches out there better than him, especially coaches who are willing to leave their present positions. Curious how Spartan grads and fans feel.

·
Registered
148 Posts
I saw in the Detroit News today reporters saying there's a good chance Dantonio will retire after the season. Anybody have any inside info on this? I'm a Michigan grad but I was shocked to see this. I think he's a really good coach. Maybe not a great recruiter but an excellent coach. I think Sparty would have a hard time replacing him. I just don't think there's that many coaches out there better than him, especially coaches who are willing to leave their present positions. Curious how Spartan grads and fans feel.
I bleed green. However, the past few years Dantonio has gone 15-18 against power 5 opponents. It has been beyond frustrating to watch a championship level defense with a JV level offense. To top it off, he refuses to adapt his offense, bring in new ideas or admit his offense is not working. If this team continues to struggle on offense I think it would be time to step down at the end of the season. At that point, the university would have a hard time getting a big name coach to come to East Lansing. I would like to see Mike Tressel get a shot as long as he is willing to hire an OC with fresh ideas and a history of success.

Sent from my iPhone using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

·
Registered
3,316 Posts