Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

Could you accept this bait ban compromise?

• Yes, I could accept this plan

Votes: 30 48.4%
  • No, I could not accept this plan

Votes: 32 51.6%
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
15,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As a pragmatic man, there's something that tells me that the next few days of meetings in Lansing will possibly alter the current LP baiting ban currently in place. I have no inside knowledge of changes, just a gut feeling that state Rep's and farmers alike will exert great pressure to alter the current baiting ban.

If the ban is to be altered, and I suspect it will, what is the best course of action? I have a suggestion for a poll that may keep most happy for the 2008 season.

My suggestion for 2008 is to create a several county no baiting "hot zone" around Kent County, just like what is done with the TB Zone. That way, the rest of the LP is open to baiting for this year only and the states farmers can sell their ready for harvest bait crops across the state, in the open baiting counties.

The hot zone must be by county and not just some 20 or 50 mile circle around the CWD deer farm. Hunters can figure out county lines. The map of the 20 or 50 mile hot zone circle, if not done by county, would be a nightmare to figure out.

The no baiting hot zone should have Kent county at the center. Then have Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Montcalm, Newaygo, Muskegon and Ottawa counties around it in the baiting ban also. There'd be no baiting in these 8 counties.

This is the best way to go IMHO, if the CWD plan in place is to be altered over the next few days. Any potential CWD wild deer is most likely cut off, yet farmers can sell bait for this seasons crops that are ready for harvest.

After this 2008 season, all baiting would then be banned in the LP, for good.

Most importantly, this should give a good safe buffer zone around the CWD deer farm in Kent County.