Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 1-2 acres of mature Poplars I am going to cut down for thicket regrowth. The tops and brush will be left but the main trunks will be burned in an OWB. For those of you who have done this type of clearing, is it better to cut the tree off as close to the ground as possible or is it better to leave the stump a certain height for better regrowth into a thicket? How high? Thanks for any insight! - Dave

·
Registered
666 Posts
Im not an expert, but I do not think stump height matters for poplar. If you clear cut an area of poplar, you will get tons of suckers shooting up from the roots. I had some of my poplar clear cut 2 years ago, and that area is now about 7 to 10 feet tall and very thick.

·
Registered
2,661 Posts
I also agree that you get a thicket regrowing based upon suckers from the roots. Just getting stump shoots isn't going to give you a thicket most likely.

I've found that cutting single larger poplars seems to result in a disappointing amount of growth. My understanding now is that you need sunlight hitting the ground to get the necessary regrowth from the roots (which I didn't have on the few I had to experiment with). I haven't had experience with doing this to a larger group of poplars, but have seen something similar on the neighbors side (they did it for firewood rather than habitat).

·
Registered
57 Posts
I'm in a similar situation as junglecat. I'm trying to thicken up an area that consists of smaller maples and some large poplars. I was planning on hinging the maples and dropping the poplars. Could cuttings from the tops of the poplars be taken and planted in the area for regrowth?

·
Banned
2,725 Posts