Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7,345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone uses these supplements from the Whitetail Institute. I am thinking of buying year supplements for some key areas.

If you have used supplements which ones seem to work the best?

·
Banned
3,359 Posts
I know some guys swear by them, the deer have pretty much ignored every one of my mineral supplementation attempts.

I know the Eaton Co. QDM branch sells a good one, recommended by Dr. Kroll.

$18.00 for 50#.

Give Tony Smith a call for the low down, 517-726-BUCK.

·
Registered
1,841 Posts
I've been using 30-06 from The Whitetail Institute for about 10 years now. The deer eat it. I've tried mixing my own deer mineral. The deer don't use it very much. Let us know if you take Swamp Ghost's advice and try the Eaton co. QDM mix.

·
Registered
19,326 Posts
I believe these supplements are consider bait just like carrots or shelled corn. IF I'm correct, then these can only be put out from Oct. 1st to Jan. 1st. I thought a couple of you were opposed to baiting ?? If I'm wrong, let me thank you in advance for clearing this up for me.

L & O

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
Your'r right L&O, they however can be placed within 100 yards of your home year round legally. Minerals have not been found to make a difinite improvement in the size of deer's antlers or their body by most scientific studies. However even scientists like Dr. Kroll who has stated this fact uses minerals. Why?