Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
went out last weekend and took one 10" trout in eight hours worst trip for me so far but this is my first time out since september. Do the fish change locations from the summer to the winter up here? i tried just about everything i could. spawn, wigglers, wax worms, minnows, and trout worms. finally did catch one one a worm. p[lan to go up sunday and see what i can do. any advise and help would help just started trout fishing this summer. the only thing i have chang was my line size i have went up to 4lbs test on my small rods and running 6lbs red color line on my steelie rod:grouphug:

·
Registered
760 Posts
JMHO but I like to fish behind the salmon beds and along current breaks. Also, I like to let the bait/lure hang a little while at the end of the sweep. They aren't as a ggresive in the colder water. Maybe you want to try some slower water also. Dark water is good water! if you are headed to the Mo tomorrow, be careful, the water is HIGH! The melting snow and all the rain together with the draw down of Hardy pond adds a lot of water to the system.:sad: GOOD LUCK!:)

·
Super Moderator
20,293 Posts
Sounds like you fished "melt water". Good for flow, but it's right at 32. It actually cools the river.
Listen to Dutch. The wadeable fast water (Pine) just doesn't produce under those conditions. Now if you were to find the slower stretches just below there...

I'm contemplating a trip near the end of the month. The additional water brought fish and even if it gets colder the fish have acclimated by then

·
Registered
3,645 Posts