Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was in the need to have a crossbow press so I made one and was wondering about what you guys are using. I have been shooting and hunting with a crossbow for the last 10 to 12 years (with a disability permit though our state of Michigan of course) and I was getting sick and tired of waiting on the local shops and paying them for work that I could do if I had a press and I enjoy tinkering on my hunting tools. I will try to post some pictures of what I use, what do you use?

·
Premium Member
12,928 Posts
Nice looking presss. Would you do anythig different if you were to do it again?

·
Registered
601 Posts
Glad it works for you! Most of the mfgs don't want you to press the limbs like that, look at most of the new presses they have "fingers" that cradle the tip of the limbs and press inward, sorta like the same as when the bow is drawn. I built mine to work on anything, with a lot of adjustment for different bows/xbows. I use a worm style boat hitch and the square tubing to slide in and out.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Glad it works for you! Most of the mfgs don't want you to press the limbs like that, look at most of the new presses they have "fingers" that cradle the tip of the limbs and press inward, sorta like the same as when the bow is drawn. I built mine to work on anything, with a lot of adjustment for different bows/xbows. I use a worm style boat hitch and the square tubing to slide in and out.