Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been fishing a gravel pit this year that produces a large amount of Crappie. The problem is I can't catch them at night. Any advice would be great. Rig? Depth? Bait? Right now I am using a two hook set up (size 6). 8 inches below the bottom hook, a weight. I use speck minnows, and I try different depths. I am at a loss.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
289 Posts
Im no crappie expert, but I've done well 3'-6' below the ice. Seems like they suspend just under the ice when it's dark, or at least the lakes I fish for them. YMMV.

·
Registered
25 Posts
I agree with SuperSeal...not near the bottom, could be anywhere in the water column at night but typically quite a bit off the bottom...and I would try losing some of the hardware, at night get it down to a very dark colored teardrop...and very small...with a minnow. And don't always use the whole minnow, sometimes they'll just want the head, sometimes the body, experiment, it should only take a couple minnows to figure out what they want.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Do you use a lantern to attract them? Do you use any kind of fish finder?
I use both a vexilar and a lantern. Night fishing is new to me, so I am not sure about the lantern. Should it be really close to the hole?
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
19 Posts
Doesn't matter how close the latern is. Look for suspended fish on your vex. Usually near bottom where I fish. I use moon glow? I think they are called. Small vertical jig that glows with a small red orange or green dot on the top. That's it the jig and 2 or 3 red and or white spikes. They usually want you to jig the crap out of it. Almost consstant jigging. When the fish covers your bait on the vex watch your rod. Usually they will grab it and not move. So wathch for your line to go limp. I catch a lot of crappie. My favorite species on the ice.