Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
2,590 Posts
Nose jammer. Got the whole dang kit - shampoo, soap, deodorant, spray for the boots, laundry detergent. I'm not claiming that it's a miracle that allows you to smoke a doob and wear your work boots, but I haven't been blown out by a deer yet this year from having it scent me, and I've hunted a LOT so far, so I'm thinking that it doesn't hurt.

Sent from my SM-G988U using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

·
Premium Member
1,714 Posts
I think that the second oldest profession in the world is the ability some people have to persuade others into the need to buy stuff that is completely useless. See recent posts on carbon being used to uptake body odors. The molar uptake is so low as to be hilarious (I am a chemist). There isn't a damn thing you can do about your breath - other than to always breath out your nose. Your breathing is the by far the largest output of offensive compounds to deer.

·
Premium Member
249 Posts
I have heard a lot of good things about evercalm. It is made in Michigan and has no breeding scents. That would be the only one I’d try. But there really isn’t anything that is 100%. I would never ever use buck sex scents in Michigan. If that scent was taken from a captive buck that was 4yrs or older, with our Young age class and bucks I’d guess must of our bucks would smell that and run for the hills. That would be like a high school freshman going to a college bar where the football team hangs out at to pick up chicks. Probably not going to be a “happy ending“ for the young buck.

·
Premium Member
1,714 Posts