Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There probably have been many posts on this subject, but I am a big guy about 300 lbs. I need to know about the climbers if they will do the job of supporting me or will I be able to climb myself up a tree. I am 62 year old and consider myself in adequate health. I have never used a climber before. I have always built my own stands out of 2x4 and 2x2 rungs 12-16 feet high and fastened them to the trees. It gets old after a while draging these ladder stand around the country. Right now you can have one if you want to carry it out on state land in Baldwin. I have sat in some of the stands that are square tube stands 16' and they seem really solid. "Rivers Edge" on the label. I need some feed back on this topic if you could. Thumper :help:

·
Registered
176 Posts
I own a climber, ladder, and many hang on stands. I feel safest in my ladder, and climber, heck I fall asleep in both.
see if you can borrow a friends climber and try it out, I think they are stong enough for a 300 lb person with out problems.
some of the new hang on stands are real nice, large platforms and nice seats.
I recomend going to Jay's or cabelas where you can get your hands on them and take a good look.
this time of year you can get a good price on em too..

good luck.

·
Premium Member
9,385 Posts
I'm 54, and use a Summit "Viper" climber. I'm only 230# though. Summit is just my preference. I feel very safe in mine as long as the safety harness is on, going up and coming down ;)
I've got a couple different ladder stands. The Loggy Bayou, Big Daddy is a really good stand because its wide enough for heavy clothes and the sections lock together.
One of my friends weighs around 320 +/- and he buys the double ladder, two man stands. He says that they don't even move under him.
Check out some of the stands on the internet. They'll give you weight limits.