Discussion Starter #1
Some of you may recall that I put away all my canine traps and have
started my first water trapping endeavor. I am targetting mink on the
streams around my house.

Well, exactly one week ago, I set 4 footholds and 2 conibears on a creek
about 1/2-mile away. Back in October, Mallard joined me on my trapline
(we caught a coyote that morning) and on the way back, he helped me
scout and qualify the various mink spots I had found during summer. We
actually saw a big mink while we looked at this particular creek.

Well tonight after work, checking my 6 traps by headlamp, I found my
very first mink in the last trap...

I set this natural cave / undercut with a 110-conibear that I painted
for dry sets, because thats all I had. I think black or brown would have
been a better color but hey...I'm just a beginner and I only have three
conibears :) I set this trap totally submerged under water and guarding
the entrance to the natural "cave" with a couple of guide sticks.

When I got home, I took a couple more pics for documentation of my
very first mink. Its a male and wieghs 2-pounds on my digital scale.

This success has given me a boost of confidence, and I'll be setting
a couple of new spots this coming weekend.

-NC

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
Congrats!!!! That is an excellent looking mink. Looks like it's a chocolate.

·
Super Moderator
3,102 Posts
Congratulations Northcountry!

How exciting!!!!

You will always remember your first mink! And a beautiful large buck mink besides!