Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Hopefully this isnt too stupid of a question, but anyways i am looking at possibly buying a 1989 21ft Rinker with a 4.3L inboard. Im actually planing on using the boat for both fishing on lake erie and just to get out on the lake in the summer. This will be my first boat besides my two small aluminum boats. So my question is if i buy this boat would it be possible to add an outboard motor to the back of the boat just in case something happens to go wrong with the inboard so im not stranded on the lake?? Seems it might also be better for trolling, but what do i know im a newbie to boating. Also if i can add one what would be the ideal size as a backup motor/trolling motor 25hp??? thanks for any info or advice
mark

·
Registered
4,161 Posts
Absolutly.. You will need to install a lift bracket of some sort. Brackets range from about $200 - $xxxx.xx depending on the size motor you are going to carry. I'm trying to do the same thing, but keep everything out of the way.. We'll see.... May have to modify your swim platform...

·
Banned
4,684 Posts
I had a 15hp 2 Stroke on my 24' and hated it. It could move it, but it was up in the R's to keep her moving. Any type of headwind and it had a problem holding a course (and teh big lake ALWAYS has some wind). Having reving so hi made it alot louder than the V8. The 2 stroke smell was not the most pleasant thing too.

If you do go with one, get a 4 stroke, 15 hp min. (for a 21 ft) One thing: If you plan on hooking an E-Z steer up, you need to check how your power steering works. Most boats with Power steering don't like to turn too freely, similar to a car. Sitting at the back with a hand on the tiller is not a fun way to spend the day. If you plan on adding an autopilot (IF you can get past the power steering issue and use a E-Z Steer) the thrust of the little motor will not be enough for the autopilot to correct itself.