Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,941 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been hunting public land for the past 2 years with my young beagle. We both are still learning how to hunt bunnies. Does anyone have any suggestions where to find good numbers of rabbits? I'm located in Byron Center and would like to find a few new places that hold rabbits so I can work the dog. I think the more rabbits we run into the more she will improve.

If anyone has land and wants to go out let me know. Again I'm no expert and my dog is still trying to figure this thing out. PM me and let me know.

Good luck to all of you who chase the bunnies this winter. I'm hoping to impove on the 6 we got last year.

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
I'm in the same spot with my male beagle. This is his 3rd season and even though his first 2 were limited by 1 1/2 ft of snow I'm real happy with him. We only took 2 last winter because I wanted to let him chase and learn, sometimes I didn't even take a gun. Had him out Monday, ran 3 and got to listen to him for over an hour. Going to start putting some in the freezer. Good luck to you and if someone around my area has property they want to hunt let me know.

·
Registered
26,587 Posts
Not to brag but I bet I put over 50 in the freezer last year. I was working part time so I went almost every day. Towards the end, I didn't take a gun. Sometimes I took other people out so they could get some. The dog loves it and I like seeing him have fun too.

·
Registered
3,941 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey Freepop

Care to share your hotspots? :D Sounds like you have some great bunnie land. Have a great season.

·
Registered
26,587 Posts
You gotta figure I hunted for 3 1/2 months most every day. Some days we'd do good, some days nothing, good/bad scenting conditions. I live 30 miles south of Lansing and have 100s-1000s of acres after the first of the year. Come on down if you want to give it t try.

·
Registered
9,186 Posts