Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,871 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Came across a rubbed tree today that was bigger than my upper thigh, in the 9-10" range at least. I've seen bigger but few. You guys put much stock in tree size to indicate mature animals ? Haven't seen anything on the cams that I think would tackle a tree that size, but after 40+years I'm still learning. I could be underestimating what a 2 1/2 year old 16"-18" buck could do. :D

·
Registered
7,479 Posts
That's probably a big deer doing that...real big. Got any pics?

I consider a big rub to be at least the diameter of my wrist and have it torn up pretty good for about 12-14". Shredding on the back side helps too.

Too bad I can't find many like that around here though.

·
Registered
120 Posts
last year i found a rub on state land on a tree that was about as big around as my calf. it was tore up starting at the bottom and went up about a foot. the back side had 3 or 4 lines rubbed into it. it was also surrounded by about 5 or 6 other rubs on littler trees. i thought this was a big rub. biggest ive seen anyways. saw a smaller 6 point out there but i dont think it was the deer that made this rub. hope whatever made that rub is still out there... the rub you found was probably made by a pretty good sized deer. hope he makes an appearance this year..

·
Registered
427 Posts
I've never found anything that ******* big!!

But yes I do equate bigger rubs with bigger bucks. I also look at how high up the rub goes on the tree and examine the higher branches that might have been nicked by a tine. To me, this indicates that he has some headgear hes working with.

·
Registered
7,479 Posts
I do have to say though, that I've seen video of BIG wild deer rubbing on saplings the size of my thumb and even smaller.

·
Registered
3,463 Posts