Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
anybody got an example of a Bill of Sale I can look at? pm me and I will send you my email address, just want something half way professional looking. would really be appreciated. also, should I keep my boat trailer license plate when selling my boat? this is my first time selling a boat, any additional advice would be appreciated. thank you.

·
Administrator
27,234 Posts
Bill of sale can be just a handwritten on a blank piece of paper explaining the price and any conditions pertaining to that sale. The plate is no longer valid for the new owner of the trailer or you. Its good only for that trailer and the person it is registered to. Cannot be transfer to another trailer or new owner.

·
Banned
4,684 Posts
Might have a Bill of Sale template in Micrsoft WORD

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Walleye Mike, should I take the plate off, or should I leave it on for the buyer to drive home with? or does it not matter?

·
Banned
4,684 Posts
They are legal to get it home without a plate from (either 14 or 30 days can't remember) from the selling date.

·
Premium Member
9,398 Posts
You can take it off and pitch it. You can not legally use it on another trailer. Don't let it go with the new buyer.
RIGHT!

NEVER, NEVER, NEVER let a license plate that is registered to you, go with ANYTHING that you sell !!!!!! You can end up with more problems than you could ever dream of!!!