Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

Bluegills Have Moved

1553 Views 9 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  RLWagner
Anybody else experiencing this? Normal spots are not producing. I know there are still plenty of fish in the lake and they still have to eat. Small bowl-shaped lake. Deepest part is about 40 feet. Been catching them in 8 to 12 feet of water, now they are hanging out somewhere else. Any tips on how to pattern these mid-winter fish?
Reactions: Sparky23
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Move out deep from where you were catching them. They tend to roam around suspended in 20-40 fow which can be hard to pattern from my experience.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reactions: leadbelly
I'm no expert ice fisherman, but it seems as the weeds go away, the gills move deeper or to other structure.
Go deeper! As the weeds die, oxygen is depleted.
I'm no expert ice fisherman, but it seems as the weeds go away, the gills move deeper or to other structure.
Mid winter bite is toughest part of season. I’ll be making holes Saturday. Been slow in Washtenaw County this year.
Looks like I need to cut more holes

Sent from my Pixel using Michigan Sportsman mobile app
Reactions: J Sibert
Piscatorial,

Normally that lake will freeze first of January, this year it has had 4-5 additional weeks of ice. I have found the same situation. head to the opposite end of the lake on warmer days, as there is a little flowage of oxygenated water down there.

Also, the first point on your right as you travel out, has a weed line 17-21' just prior to the point. I have found green weeds here late in the year. The perch move in there as well. Important to use motor oil plastics to mimic the blood worms in there.Use these tails on bluegill fry jigs that mimic the bait-fish nursery that exists here.

Once you nab a decent gill or perch in there, check out the stomach contents, you will be surprised how much it has changed since early ice.