Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems my vocation is catching up with me. I am a mechanic on airplanes, for the past 28 years. This summer I've experienced back pain like no other year past. I live in Idaho and enjoy traveling to the western UP every year, to hunt with family. Last year being the exception. Due to the snow and other reasons.

For the previous 16 seasons I enjoyed "still hunting" for whitetail. I dislike that term. Being that I am not still, I am moving, like smoke. I don't live in the UP anymore and the last thing I want to do is look at the same 3 acres for a week. So I've been sneaking around the woods for years. To see as much of the big woods as I can, now that I live in the west. It has been rewarding when I do tag a buck. Nothing worthy of Boone and Crockett. But satisfying to me nonetheless. As I plan to return to the western UP, I find myself having to ask my older, out of shape brother to find me a spot near camp for a blind and bait to hunt. (Irks me)

I used to say that I am looking for a stump to sit on, as I hunt all day. Tis the name Stumphunter.

Any other hunters out there switching from "still hunting" to blind hunting as they age? By the way, I am only 46.

p.s.
I probably will not hunt elk in Idaho next month. Due to back problems. My previous pack outs of elk meat averaged 4 1/2 hours to the 4 four wheeler. Times 2 days.

·
Banned
444 Posts
I hunt blinds just cause I am more succesful. I do enjoy still hunting. Blinds are nice, it gives you some place to go before dark, or if you only have 2-3 hours in the evening to hunt. I like to walk during the day. I had big plans for last year, glad I had blind.

I am looking to build more blinds, to see more areas, and prevent deer from identifying me.

·
Premium Member
10,023 Posts