Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to the black powder arena, and currently sighting in a TC Omega at 100yds, 250gr bullet w/ 100gr of pyrodex.

I'd like to know what bullet/sabot combinations have worked well for anyone else who has this gun. I know that each gun will have its own personality, so to speak... but given TC's consistency in manufacturing, I figure there's bound to be some similiar and effective combinations from gun-to-gun.

Thanks for your input.

-JT

· Registered
2,908 Posts
WelCome aboard. This section is for introductions, but I'll help out. For me I tried a couple difffernt loose powders like 777 and some other stuff. none of them gave me the consistency i was after. Its been so long I don't remember all that I tried, but it was 3 or 4 types.. The best setup that worked for me 2. 777 pellets and a 250 gr shockwave. Im shooting the TC 50 cal Omega

· Registered
1,878 Posts
My Omega likes the 250 gr XTP with any where from 120-140 gr of Pyrodex. I'm currently shooting a Precision Rifle 275 gr bullet with 110 gr of Pyrodex. It loads slightly easier and has a little better groups out to almost 200 yards. I keep my shots under 150 yards with very good results. The XTP was a good starting point and was consistent with a lot of different loads. I started with 90 gr of powder and went up 10 gr until I found one I liked. Have patience with your Omega and you will find the sweet spot.

Tim

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for your input. Have you tested your groupings with the magnum loads? I don't intend on shooting far enough to need 150gr, but sometime you might need to reach out and touch some cervidae. I will try your methos of upping th laod 10grs, and see where I group. Thanks again.

· Registered
1,878 Posts