Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just wanted to share with people what I have now found to be the ultimate winter steelhead fishing gloves. I have tried so many options and finally found something with which I am happy. I've been using them for 2 years. They are the llbean "windblock converta- mitts". There are plenty of great and warm gloves like ski type gore-tex breathable gloves with prima-loft insulation, but I often find them annoying and impractical in many situations (like knots, baiting, removing weeds, or de-icing guides etc.) and you ended up taking them off or not wearing them so often that you end up getting uncomfortably cold and blistered hands.

These gloves convert from half fingers to full fingered gloves. There are many converta mitt gloves out there, but I found them to be not practical for a fisherman tying knots because they usually don't have a flip finger for the thumbs (except glacier gloves). These ones also flip at the thumb. They have 2 layers of fleece that is very snow and water repellant for fleece and a waterproof breathable layer sandwiched between the fleece.

My next favorite option has been half fingered rag wool gloves, but some days I find that they just don't cut it for warmth. I still carry a heavy XL plastic rubber glove on my wading belt that I clip off my wading belt when grabbing fish that I put over my main gloves to jeep them from getting "slimed" and totally soaked. However, even after I've accidentally dropped my gloves or dunked them in the river they are still pretty warm and quickly dry off.

--I hope this helps some people stay happier and more comfortable on the river! I am in no way affiliated with llbean, but I do like their warranty (no questions asked lifetime warranty)
;)
http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/20516?feat=500171-GN3

· Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·