Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Super Moderator
36,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just getting into musky fishing and would like to try jigging Bondy's around Belle Isle (I'm assuming its the moat likely area to get my first musky). What is the closest, best and most importantly SAFEST launch up that way?

I normally launch out of Riverview or Wyandotte but its quite a hike at around 2-3 mpg.

Thanks!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Ohub Campfire mobile app

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
Border patrol is at most launches these days, even in Detroit. St. Jean or Alter Road are on the north end of Belle Isle. I had a four foot muskie on just north of the Belle Isle bridge, stole my clown plug while handlining

Sent from my XT907 using Ohub Campfire mobile app

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
Just a heads up, it's a steep launch and crappy docks

·
Premium Member
3,089 Posts
You can't count on the Border Patrol being there all the time. Just be smart and keep your eyes open. Never had a problem but always had someone with me.

m

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
They were on me like the Cops TV show on Wednesday night

·
Super Moderator
36,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Not worried too much about the docks unless they will gouge my boat.

Just had to ask because I haven't had the best of luck around Detroit when it comes to keeping what I have earned. I will NEVER understand how some think "hey that's a nice *fill in the blank*. I think I will take it. Screw how the true owner feels."

·
Registered
326 Posts
Elizabeth park launch is the headquarters for the Wayne county sheriff marine division. I've stayed there quite a bit overnight while bowfishing and never had a problem.

·
Super Moderator
36,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I launch at EP all the time. Just wanted to try a different area.

·
Registered
2,530 Posts