Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to obtain a hand auger to take with me on years/times like this. I know there are a lot of good ones out there but I have no experience with hand augers. A power auger with 3" of ice is a little bit of overkill. And there are some times when I wish I could be more stealthier (is that a word?). Thank you.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
I have a mora 6in and it is great for cutting through ice. I know people will say the lazers are better, which they prolly are. The mora is around 40-50 bucks. I think the lazers are around 70-80. At my local bait shop they are 74.99. Hope this helps.

Redneckman

·
Registered
555 Posts
I have a Mora 8 inch hand auger, i'll tell you straight up IT SUCKS! They are cheaper then the lazers, but I probably would pay the extra $30 for the lazer..hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,260 Posts
Have an old Mora 4" and a newer Strikemaster Lazer 5" both go through the ice like butter.

For panfish either makes a big enough hole.

In my experience the larger the dia., the more ice you're cutting, the more difficult it becomes. So it's a trade off between energy exerted and the size of hole you want.

·
Registered
5,994 Posts
The laser is the best for the money. you can re drill the same hole with out a problem . They make one that may be better but you'll pay. I'm not sure of the name do a search it was talked about this winter. I'd go with a 6" laser. anything under 8 inches of ice it's a breeze. the larger hole is what i like. less freeze easy scoop out . easy landing fish. and easy looking down the hole. the 6" laser is something you'll have all our life and replacement blades aren't that bad and always available.

·
Registered
8,380 Posts