Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im an absolute beginner when it comes to salmon. I would like to give it a shot this fall. Any advice on equipment or technique would be greatly appreciated. Im not looking to go hi tech or high dollar just maybe a simple set up that will give me a chance to get bit. I have a lifetime of bass and walleye experience just looking to try somthing new and dont know where to begin. I have a 10 ft okuma steelhead rod but thats about it. Thank in advance.

·
Premium Member
1,759 Posts
Click on SEARCH FORUMS at the top of this page type in salmon and the river you'd like to fish. TONS of info Available. Good Luck!!

·
Registered
948 Posts
Cast a glow Cleo off the pier right at dusk and dawn. Cast a Jr thunderstick in a deep hole in the river. Retrieves are typically faster than walleye fishing.

·
Registered
3,039 Posts
Get some 14 or 16 pound fishing line on a reel with a good drag. Tie on a circle spawn hook. Attach floating spawn to hook. Add a couple splitshot about 14-18 inches above hook. Cast it on the upstream side of a hole. Let it tick bottom as you drift it through hole. Repeat. Spinners also work in rivers. About #2 mepps.
Off pier, use 3/4 oz spoons. Blue silver, green silver, or glo green in low light.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'm a newbie myself about to head out in a couple weeks for the first time. Talked some buddies into fishing with me for my bachelor party weekend. Figured even if every single one of us get skunked, I would rather do that then go out to the bars or whatever. Starting to get really excited

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
G
I'm a newbie myself about to head out in a couple weeks for the first time. Talked some buddies into fishing with me for my bachelor party weekend. Figured even if every single one of us get skunked, I would rather do that then go out to the bars or whatever. Starting to get really excited

·
Registered