Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 21 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Michigan and hunting. I've only hunted pheasant and deer, and very little at that. Looking to try out duck hunting this fall. Have a Remington 870 and 15' sportsman canoe I could rig up to access smaller lakes. However, I have no idea how to ID the different species, tactics to use, pretty much everything. Are there events by DNR or DU or someone that I should look to attend before this next season? I am near Lansing.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
For duck identification there are a few quizes online. Ducks unlimited has some as I believe delta waterfowl does too. Search online for waterfowl of Michigan and study the different ducks. You could watch hunting videos on tv and online to see how the different species fly and look in the air as well.

·
Registered
572 Posts
Waterfowl Identification: The LeMaster Method: Richard LeMaster ...
www.amazon.com › ... › Sports & Outdoors › Hunting & Fishing › Hunting
Rating: 4.3 - ‎81 reviews
Waterfowl Identification: The LeMaster Method [Richard LeMaster] on Amazon. com. *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. Instructions for identifying 40 species ...

Buy this book.

Reactions: brandcole73

·
Registered
1,654 Posts
Have someone with some experience take you out, you'll learn a lot more quicker, but if you don't have that the Internet and books stated above are a great start. Also getting out to a marsh before season and just bird watching is helpful too!

·
Banned
1,549 Posts
Throw a 5hp on that sportspal and you've got a great small water rig. I used to have one and wished I wouldn't have sold it now. experience it the best way to start identifying ducks...you get two hens now, so you can do a lot of hunting before you have to start getting too concerned about ID'ing...not to say ID'ing isn't important...but you have more wiggle room now than you would have a couple of seasons ago.