Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very interested in learning how to fish for steelhead,browns, and salmon in rivers, but I need a little advice to get me started. I went and did some observing today at sixth street dam, saw some steelies landed and some lost. I noticed some guys were fishing spawn and others fishing flies, does anyone have a preference? What is the best way for a beginner to rig up a line, and how far do most guys fish off bottom? What size rod and pound test do you reccomend? Also are there any spots near grand rapids where i can practice my techniques without getting in the way but may still get lucky and hook one up. As I said I am completely new to this and dont have anybody around to show me the ropes so any info at all is appreciated. Thanks alot

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
Welcome To The Family..
Im Sure You Will Recieve Anwsers To All Of Your Questions From All Of The Experienced Fishermen We Have In This Tight Knit Family.

Carl

·
Registered
255 Posts
First off welcome to the site.
I prefer a 8 1/2 to 9 foot med. action rod, with anywhere from 8 to 6 lb line ( I use yo zury line ) with a leader of 6 to 4 lb.
Spawn is usually the mainstay as far as bait goes, but flies also work along with plugs, & mepps spinners. It all depends on the mood of the fish, water clarity.
As far as where you can go to practice, just find a stream with steelhead, salmon in it and start to get to know it. That alone is a challenge.
Dont be afraid to ask other anglers you meet on the stream questions. I think you will find that most of them will be receptive.
Lastly patience is the key to sucess.
Good luck!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Hey gvsufishin, welcome to the site.