Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey i just picked up a new shimano bait casting reel and i get it ajusted right but almost everytime i cast i get that nasty birdsnest???? is there any thing i may be doing wrong? am i trying to cast to hard?? please help..
thanks
Anthony Shoup

·
Registered
2,792 Posts
While learning, set the adjustments a little on the high side - don't try and overpower the cast (distance will come latter) - and make sure when You cast, that the reel handles are pointed up (this positions Your wrist properly). Have patience, C-man

·
Premium Member
18,470 Posts
Believe me, I'm FAR from a pro. (More like a barely adequate amateur :) ) But you just have to stick with it. I fought it for a while too but eventually you'll start to get the hang of it. I agree with this above post about setting it a bit heavy at first. No you won't get as much distance but it will help eliminate the birds nest. Until you start getting the hang of it concentrate more on technique than distance. As you start to get the feel for it you can lighten up the brakes and gradually increase your distance. I try to keep my thumb above the spool just enough to let is spin but as the lure approaches the water I press on the spool to stop it. That eliminates the backlash.

Good luck and just keep practicing!

John

·
Registered
12,984 Posts
Set the adjustments tighter than you think you will be fishing. Then use a heavier bait... 1/2 oz or heavier. Practice practice practice. You may want to start in the back yard with a casting plug or some other type of weight.

By the way, what kind of Shimano did you get?

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i bought a cruxis

·
Registered
3,838 Posts