Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,324 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just purchased my Lowrance x67c Ice machine, so thanks to everyone who replied on my previous post, you were all very helpfull! Now its time for a new auger.. I have owned "SEVERAL" strikemaster MORA augers and each one ends up giving me the same problem! Even with new blades the auger just doesnt seem to wanna grab. It doesnt matter if I apply little pressure or a lot of pressure while drilling, its as if it just spins on the ice! And yes thats with NEW blades.. Now I'm not sure If the ends have become bent therefore not having the correct angle i just dunno. but I do know Its time for a change! I am either going to attempt to purchase a Strikemaster Lazer hand auger, Strikemaster Mag 2000 power auger or a Jiffy Stealth STX.. I have never used any of these augers before so I am looking for advice or reccomendations!! These are just a few of the models I am interested in.. I know what a few other people are using these days as I am aware of the auger poll post, but I dont see where anyone gives their reviews on any of these 3 augers So I'm simply open for advice!! thanks a lot and tight lines..
JON

·
Premium Member
10,804 Posts
If your going to get a hand auger, go with the Lazer. Its more money up front than a Mora or others but worth every penny!

BTW - your Mora's sounds like the blade head/base has gotten "tweeked". I have seen happen when people "tap" the blade end/head of the auger on the ice after drilling a hole to get the ice/slush or snow off. That move is not recommended and is something you never, ever wanna do! ;)

·
Registered
3,870 Posts
i own a laser and they are great but i am also going to purchase a jiffy stx this season for when the ice gets thick

·
Registered
5,934 Posts
if i had to buy a new one,i think i'd get the
LAZER too.
i think the blade angle is wrong on the mora, so if you don't have the means to change it, your screwed.

·